While lemon law presumption in California differs from state to state, most follow the same basic structure. In the state of California, your vehicle falls under Lemon Law Presumption if the following occurs within 18 months or 18,000 miles of purchasing your vehicle:
- It is repaired at least two times for a substantial safety defect that can cause bodily injury or death
- It is repaired at least four times for a persistent non-substantial safety defect
- It is out of service for more than 30 days total due to any combination of problems or defects.
A consumer must be able to prove at least one of the above criteria in a California court of law for a judge to presume your vehicle a lemon. If this happens, you are entitled to compensation. Remember, manufacturers have the opportunity to argue against you, and often will. This is why it’s important to have an experienced attorney on your side. We have a 99% success rate and a strong reputation for being aggressive and getting our clients the settlement they deserve.
If you’re unsure whether or not your car qualifies as a lemon, we’re here to help. Lemon laws aren’t always black and white, but we have the experience and expertise to guide you through the process. Contact our California lemon law attorney today for a free evaluation of your situation and we’ll get started right away at getting you the settlement you deserve.