At Shainfeld Law, P.C., our Los Angeles lemon law attorneys know that the California Lemon Law protects all consumers who purchase or lease a vehicle under warranty in California (unless they are military personnel stationed in the state, it does not matter where the vehicle was purchased).

We also know there needs to be more clarity about who can pursue a California Lemon Law claim and how it works. One of the biggest myths about the state’s consumer protection is that there is an 18,000-mile limit or 18-month time constraint to file a claim.

Both are false. Here is why.

The Lemon Law Presumption is Different from the Lemon Law Itself

lemon law

In the state of California, your vehicle falls under the Lemon Law Presumption if the following occurs within 18 months or 18,000 miles of purchasing your vehicle:

  • It is repaired at least two times for a substantial safety defect that can cause bodily injury or death.
  • It is repaired at least four times for a persistent non-substantial safety defect.
  • It has been out of service for more than 30 days due to problems or defects.

The mileage cap of 18,000 miles and the time constraint of 18 months are designed to keep the consumer from spending endless hours pursuing unnecessary repair attempts before getting a refund or replacement.

Outside of the Lemon Law Presumption, consumers who purchased or leased a vehicle that is still under warranty — even after 18,000 miles or 18 months — are still eligible to make a Lemon Law Claim when they have pursued a reasonable number of repair attempts.

Do Not Take On Your Vehicle Manufacturer Alone: Contact Shainfeld Law, P.C. Today

Once the presumption constraints have passed, the process may become more complicated, but certainly not impossible, especially with our law firm’s help. Contact our experienced Los Angeles County lemon law attorney at Shainfeld Law, P.C., today by calling 310-295-1888 or request a free consultation online to pursue a legal remedy that fits your needs. We have a 99% success rate as lemon lawyers and often settle without a lawsuit in as little as 30-60 days.